Events, Latinx Comedy Pachanga, Shows, Sketch Comedy

Goodbye Cuñados

Goodbye Cuñados

I’m waving good bye to the Latinx Panel Show!

Every single Cuñados, Cuñadas, y Carnales we ever put up was a blast.

We proved the concept over and over again: get Latinx comics and artists to play trivia games and everyone will have fun, including the audience.

Latinx content from Latinx creators is more important than ever right now.

I know what it feels like to be fetishized for my identity, to have my identity turned into a commodity, and to know the difference between people laughing with me and people laughing at me.

Because of these experiences (which there never seems to be in short supply) I know the importance of Latinx art form Latinx artists. If we don’t tell our stories, someone else will, and they’ll reinforce stereotypes and tired narratives that do nothing to progress our people in America.

So, yes, everytime we did this show it was a story. It was the story of six strangers becoming friends over trivia games.

It’s still a great concept, and I’ll return to it one day when I have the time, attention, and resources it needs to be its best version possible.

Thanks to all the past panelists, and to my origin co-creators, Joe Felix and Andy Lomeli.

Thank you to my latest co-producer, Karla Espino.

Thanks to my special guest co-host, Ammy Ontiveros, for help with this last one.

Thanks to our panelists for this last one: Carmen Scott, Ricky Prieto, CJ Villagómez, and Julio Urquidi.

Thanks to The Pack Theater for this past run.

And special thanks to my sister, Melissa Funes, for the artwork, and for all the help with the social media.

I’m either winning or I’m learning, and I learned a lot on this show.

#improv #latinxcomedy #packtheater #latinxcomedypachanga

Show 51 of 2023

Standard

Leave a comment